We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies as per our policy which also explains how to change your preferences.

Top five best cheap Blu-ray DVD players under £100

By Callum Tennent

There are plenty of cheap Blu-ray DVD players, but how can you tell which are worthwhile? We explain exactly what to look out for when buying a bargain Blu-ray player.

Put us to the test

Our Test Labs compare features and prices on a range of products. Try Which? to unlock our reviews. You'll instantly be able to compare our test scores, so you can make sure you don't get stuck with a Don't Buy.

A Blu-ray player can cost anything from £50 to £500, but as our testing has shown, price isn't a reliable indicator when it comes to quality.

We've found that some expensive models are a let down when it comes to picture quality, while certain cheaper models have blown us away with their abilities. There's no way to know which will be which without buying them and using them. That's why we've picked out seven Blu-ray players that offer superb picture quality, all for under £100.

Only logged-in Which? members can view our recommendations in the table below. If you’re not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.

Top five best cheap Blu-ray DVD players under £100

Lowest price (in stock) £89.99
Which? score 66%
Reviewed Jul 2016
Picture quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Sound quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Overall ease of use:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Features:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Plays 3D Blu-rays:
Member exclusive
Upscales to 4K/UHD:
Member exclusive
Smart enabled:
Member exclusive
Can apps be added:
Member exclusive
Wi-fi:
Member exclusive

This player will upscale Blu-rays to 4K resolution and play 3D Blu-rays and DVDs, too. There are also smart apps and built-in wi-fi so you can be fully connected to the internet without the need for wires. But how did this player fare with all factors considered? Read our expert review to find out.

Lowest price (in stock) £79.00
Which? score 66%
Reviewed Jul 2016
Picture quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Sound quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Overall ease of use:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Features:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Plays 3D Blu-rays:
Member exclusive
Upscales to 4K/UHD:
Member exclusive
Smart enabled:
Member exclusive
Can apps be added:
Member exclusive
Wi-fi:
Member exclusive

This player will upscale Blu-rays to 4K resolution and play 3D Blu-rays and DVDs, too. There are also smart apps so you can access the internet and online catch up services. But how did this player fare in the all-important areas of picture and sound quality? Read our expert review to find out.

Lowest price (in stock) £69.00
Which? score 66%
Reviewed Jan 2016
Picture quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Sound quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Overall ease of use:
3 out of 53 out of 5
Features:
3 out of 53 out of 5
Plays 3D Blu-rays:
Member exclusive
Upscales to 4K/UHD:
Member exclusive
Smart enabled:
Member exclusive
Can apps be added:
Member exclusive
Wi-fi:
Member exclusive

A Blu-ray player packed with plenty of smart features for a very reasonable price. It certainly looks like it may offer good value, but how did it do in our rigorous lab testing? Read our full review to find out whether it's worth your money.

Lowest price (in stock) £79.00
Which? score 62%
Reviewed Jul 2016
Picture quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Sound quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Overall ease of use:
3 out of 53 out of 5
Features:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Plays 3D Blu-rays:
Member exclusive
Upscales to 4K/UHD:
Member exclusive
Smart enabled:
Member exclusive
Can apps be added:
Member exclusive
Wi-fi:
Member exclusive

About as good as a mid-range player can get, this model puts up strong performance across the board - and it won't cost you more than £100.

Lowest price (in stock) £51.97
Which? score 61%
Reviewed Jul 2015
Picture quality:
3 out of 53 out of 5
Sound quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Overall ease of use:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Features:
2 out of 52 out of 5
Plays 3D Blu-rays:
Member exclusive
Upscales to 4K/UHD:
Member exclusive
Smart enabled:
Member exclusive
Can apps be added:
Member exclusive
Wi-fi:
Member exclusive

The cheapest option on this list, it may be lacking in features but it still manages to provide top value for money.

Not found the product for you? Browse all of our Blu-ray DVD player reviews.

They aren't all bargains though - here's a few cheap Blu-ray DVD players that aren't even worth their meagre asking price.

Three cheap Blu-ray players under £100 to avoid

Lowest price (in stock) £169.00
Which? score 48%
Reviewed Jul 2015
Picture quality:
3 out of 53 out of 5
Sound quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Overall ease of use:
1 out of 51 out of 5
Features:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Plays 3D Blu-rays:
Member exclusive
Upscales to 4K/UHD:
Member exclusive
Smart enabled:
Member exclusive
Can apps be added:
Member exclusive
Wi-fi:
Member exclusive

An entry-level Blu-ray DVD player which also offers access to Smart TV apps, such as BBC iPlayer and Netflix over an ethernet or wi-fi connection. It lacks 3D Blu-ray playback found on models higher up in the range but it offers a 'screen mirroring' feature to display videos on TV from an Android device. We liked its compact size and range of apps, but that's where it ends - find out just what went wrong with the full review.

Lowest price (in stock) £54.00
Which? score 52%
Reviewed Jul 2016
Picture quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Sound quality:
3 out of 53 out of 5
Overall ease of use:
3 out of 53 out of 5
Features:
3 out of 53 out of 5
Plays 3D Blu-rays:
Member exclusive
Upscales to 4K/UHD:
Member exclusive
Smart enabled:
Member exclusive
Can apps be added:
Member exclusive
Wi-fi:
Member exclusive

A Blu-ray player with smart features, you'll be able to access a range of apps, including catch-up TV and on-demand services such as BBC iPlayer, YouTube and Netflix, as well as play content from an external hard drive if you have one. Models from this brand usually score well in our tests, but we couldn't recommend this one.

Lowest price (in stock) £59.99
Which? score 53%
Reviewed Jul 2016
Picture quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Sound quality:
3 out of 53 out of 5
Overall ease of use:
3 out of 53 out of 5
Features:
3 out of 53 out of 5
Plays 3D Blu-rays:
Member exclusive
Upscales to 4K/UHD:
Member exclusive
Smart enabled:
Member exclusive
Can apps be added:
Member exclusive
Wi-fi:
Member exclusive

The price may be tempting for a feature packed Blu-ray player from a big brand name like this, but our testing revealed it's just not worth it, even at this price. Read the full review now to make sure you know which model we're talking about - and to avoid it.

Not found the product for you? Browse all of our Blu-ray DVD player reviews.

How much should I pay for Blu-ray?

Which? tests all major Blu-ray player releases on a monthly basis from the biggest brands on the market - including Sony, Panasonic, LG and Samsung - and we've discovered that even the most trustworthy names occasionally drop the ball.

You don't have to pay a premium to get a Best Buy Blu-ray player - our tests reveal price is no indicator of how good a model is and we show you which offer the best overall package. Which? Best Buy Blu-ray players will not only make your favourite films look crystal clear and sound great, they are quick to load discs and won't have you throwing the remote control across the room in frustration.

SHARE THIS PAGE

Related products

See all blu-ray dvd players