We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice
Reviews based on facts
Our rigorous tests find the facts, and our impartial reviews tell you the truth about how products perform. First month £5, then £9.99 per month, cancel anytime.
Try Which?

When you click on a retailer link on our site, we may earn affiliate commission to help fund our not-for-profit mission.Find out more.

19 January 2021

Best washing machine deals for 2021

We highlight the best washing machines deals chosen by Which? experts, including freestanding and integrated models.
best washing machine deals
Aaron West

Looking to find a bargain in the sales? We’ve rounded up some of the best deals you can find right now.

The big manufacturers, such as Bosch and Miele, normally launch a new range of washing machines on an annual basis. This means that retailers are often reducing last year's range to clear stock - so there are often washing machine bargains to be had.

But not all price cuts are as attractive as they appear. Read on for our expert pick of some genuine bargains and find out how to spot your own.

For more buying advice, read our guide on how to buy the best washing machine.

Best washing machine deals for January 2021

1. Samsung WW90T936DSX  

  • £270 off standard price
  • Large 9kg capacity and fast 1,600rpm spin
  • Smart compatible with Samsung SmartThings app

This Samsung washing machine has been slowly decreasing in price over the past month and it now sits at £879, a full £270 cheaper than it was in November 2020. Read our full Samsung washing machines rated page for our verdict on the brand.

Buy now for £879 at John Lewis & Partners

2. Miele WSD123 

  • Cheapest price we've seen since May 2020
  • Medium 8kg capacity and 1,400rpm spin
  • Cap dosing system allows you to use pre-measured capsules of Miele's detergents and softeners

The price of this premium Miele washing machine has jumped around a little bit over the summer and autumn, between £670 and £729. It's currently £629 on AO.com, matching the cheapest we've seen it since May 2020. Read our full Miele WSD123 washing machine review to see if it's worth buying.

Buy now for £629 at AO.com

3.  Zanussi ZWF01483W 

  • £40 off usual price
  • Extra large 10kg capacity and 1,400rpm spin
  • Has a self-cleaning detergent drawer

This Zanussi washing machine fluctuates in price quite a bit, but it usually costs around £369. So the reported £100 saving isn't real - it's more like a £40 saving. But it's still a good price for this washing machine, and the cheapest we've seen it since September 2020. Read our full Zanussi ZWF01483W washing machine review to see how it fares in our rigorous tests.

Buy now for £329 at John Lewis & Partners

4. Hoover Dynamic Link DHL 1482D3 

  • £30 off usual price  
  • Compatible with Hoover Wizard smartphone app
  • NFC One Touch control with Android phone

This Hoover washing machine is currently at £220, making it one of the cheapest smart models around. It normally costs around £249, so the saving isn't quite the £80 Curry's claim, but it's still a good saving for such a cheap machine. Read our full Hoover washing machines rated page for our verdict on the brand.

Buy now for £220 at Currys PC World


Gets sales savvy: how to get the best price when shopping online


Deals last updated on 4 January 2021.

Where is the best place to buy a washing machine

To find the best shops for home appliances, tech and more, we surveyed 12,419 people in August 2020, including Which? members and the general public. We asked how satisfied people were with the retailer and have star ratings for customer service, value for money, and delivery and returns for all the major retailers, including AO.com, Currys PC World and John Lewis & Partners.

John Lewis & Partners comes out on top as the best place to buy home appliances for 2020. Shoppers particularly loved its aftersales service, product guarantees and warranties, and website layout. 

Home appliances are often used every day and there’s a lot that could go wrong, so what happens after you’ve parted with your cash is just as important as the buying experience.

Overall, a third of household appliances shoppers who tried to make a return were unhappy with the process. John Lewis & Partners was the only retailer in this category to get the maximum five stars for aftersales service and returns. See our guide on your online shopping rights if you have to return an appliance or get it fixed.

In joint-second place were AO.com and Euronics. While AO.com is online-only, Euronics has a very different business model, with a network of independent electrical retailers across the country.

Looking to find the a great deal at the beginning of 2021? Read our guide on the best deals in the January sales.


See our full list of the best household appliance shops for the full ranking


Extra washing machine costs you need to consider

1. Installation and delivery costs

Getting an online delivery of a washing machine can be a real hassle and you'll need to fork out quite a lot to make it more convenient.

Delivery costs is where you see the biggest differences between retailers.

All offer free delivery, but this gives you no choice over the date or time of the delivery (so you'll need to make sure you stay home that day).

AO.com charge the most we've seen for a quick delivery and a timeslot of your choice, either morning (7am to 12pm), lunch (10am to 2pm) or afternoon (12pm to 5pm). 

2. Disposal and recycling costs

Disposal costs are normally around £20 from each retailer.

Unusually, AO.com separate out £10 to disconnect your old appliance, a service normally included in the installation cost of your new machine.

This could add £10 to the total cost your new freestanding appliance. As the cost for installing an integrated model is £10 less than other retailers, it doesn't increase the cost for built-in models.

Retailer Delivery costs Installation costs Disposal/recycling costs Maximum total extra cost
AO.com Varies from free (no choice of date or time) up to £55 (quick delivery and chosen time slot) £25 (£80 for integrated models) £20 recycling

£10 disconnection service
£165
Currys PC World Free standard delivery

£15- 20 for chosen date sooner than standard delivery
£25 (£90 for integrated models) £20 recycling £130
John Lewis & Partners Free standard

£12.95 for four hour slot

£24.95 for two hour slot

£19.95 for next day delivery
£25 (£90 for integrated models) £20 recycling £134.95
Table last updated in December 2020.

3. Energy running costs

Another extra cost you need to consider is the cost of the energy used to run your washing machine.

Our expert testing has revealed big differences between washing machines, with the least efficient using more than four times the energy of the most efficient.

We calculate an estimated annual running cost of every washing machine we review by multiplying the energy used for one standard cottons load by 208 (four loads a week for 52 weeks a year) and 18.75p per kWh.

The most efficient cost just £15 a year to run, while the least could add £63 – a £48 difference.

Find the best energy-efficient washing machines to help you save money and help the environment.


Give yourself the best chance of of finding a great model by reading our washing machine reviews.

View all Washing machines
LATEST NEWS IN Which? Home & garden See all news