We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies as per our policy which also explains how to change your preferences.

Best activity trackers and fitness watches

Top five activity trackers for 2018

By Hannah Walsh

Article 1 of 6

Keep on track with our pick of five of the best activity trackers from our tough lab tests, including models for every need and budget

Put us to the test

Our Test Labs compare features and prices on a range of products. Try Which? to unlock our reviews. You'll instantly be able to compare our test scores, so you can make sure you don't get stuck with a Don't Buy.

Whether you’re looking for a simple activity tracker for monitoring steps, calories and distance travelled, or want one with some more advanced features, we've got a top-scoring activity tracker for you. 

We’ve tested over 50 of the latest activity trackers from brands such as Fitbit, Garmin, Misfit and Samsung.

Our tough tests use specialist lab equipment to check the accuracy of the tracking capabilities of each device, meaning you'll be able to precisely monitor your activity and fitness. Our panel of users gets to grips with the trackers over a number of weeks, so you can be sure that we have the best advice when it comes to set-up, ease of use and comfort.

The best fitness trackers are accurate, comfortable and a breeze to use, but not all devices are built the same. Poor performers in our tests have failed to track any activity accurately, and we’ve found models that are so uncomfortable our users wouldn’t want them even as a gift. These devices are sure to end up resigned to a drawer.

Which? members can log in to see the products behind the scores. If you’re not already a member, you can take a Which? trial to unlock the table below and get access to all our online reviews.

Best fitness trackers 2018

Lowest price (in stock) £134.94
Which? score 71%
Reviewed Dec 2017
Ease of use:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Comfort:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Accuracy:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Built in GPS:
Member exclusive
Built in heart rate monitor:
Member exclusive
Waterproof:
Member exclusive

This comfortable activity tracker has great functionality, including built-in GPS and a heart-rate monitor. Step tracking is accurate - is it the tracker for you?

Lowest price (in stock) £196.98
Which? score 70%
Reviewed Nov 2017
Ease of use:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Comfort:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Accuracy:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Built in GPS:
Member exclusive
Built in heart rate monitor:
Member exclusive
Waterproof:
Member exclusive

A feature-packed tracker that’s a pro at tracking your activity – is it the one for you?

Typical price £80.00
Which? score 65%
Reviewed Jan 2018
Ease of use:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Comfort:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Accuracy:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Built in GPS:
Member exclusive
Built in heart rate monitor:
Member exclusive
Waterproof:
Member exclusive

This slimline tracker is accurate, comfortable to wear and packed full of features. Could it be the one for you?

Lowest price (in stock) £67.98
Which? score 65%
Reviewed Jul 2016
Ease of use:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Comfort:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Accuracy:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Built in GPS:
Member exclusive
Built in heart rate monitor:
Member exclusive
Waterproof:
Member exclusive

There’s no need to charge this device because it has a replaceable battery that will last for around a year. It’s accurate too.

Lowest price (in stock) £59.99
Which? score 64%
Reviewed Apr 2018
Ease of use:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Comfort:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Accuracy:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Built in GPS:
Member exclusive
Built in heart rate monitor:
Member exclusive
Waterproof:
Member exclusive

A classic tracker that gets the basic right, is accurate and comfortable to wear. It has a coin-cell battery which should last for up to a year, too.

Pricing, recommendations and test scores correct as of June 2018.

Not found the perfect product for you? Browse all of our fitness watch and activity tracker reviews.

And here are three fitness trackers to avoid

Our tests have also uncovered products that are inaccurate, uncomfortable to wear, and don't meet battery life claims. These devices will soon end up shoved in a drawer, so make sure you pick the best fitness tracker rather than one of the dodgy devices in the table below.

Activity trackers to avoid

Typical price £40.00
Which? score 49%
Reviewed Dec 2017
Ease of use:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Comfort:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Accuracy:
3 out of 53 out of 5
Built in GPS:
Member exclusive
Built in heart rate monitor:
Member exclusive
Waterproof:
Member exclusive

The Flare would only suit those that want basic activity tracking for general interest rather than tracking improvement, owing to issues with the repeatability of tracking data.

Lowest price (in stock) £51.22
Which? score 48%
Reviewed Jul 2016
Ease of use:
3 out of 53 out of 5
Comfort:
2 out of 52 out of 5
Accuracy:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Built in GPS:
Member exclusive
Built in heart rate monitor:
Member exclusive
Waterproof:
Member exclusive

It may be accurate, but the issues with setup, style and comfort mean this tracker isn't worth buying. There are much better options available.

Typical price £50.00
Which? score 41%
Reviewed Oct 2016
Ease of use:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Comfort:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Accuracy:
2 out of 52 out of 5
Built in GPS:
Member exclusive
Built in heart rate monitor:
Member exclusive
Waterproof:
Member exclusive

This tracker struggles with accuracy - calorie burn is overstated during walking and running, while distances are understated.

We test activity trackers more thoroughly than anyone else

Our activity tracker testing goes the extra mile. We walk and run on a treadmill, carry shopping and load and unload a dishwasher, all while wearing a heart rate monitor or special mask for analysing breathing (which helps to track calories highly accurately).  

These are just some of the lengths we go to in order to check how accurate a fitness tracker is. Our users try out the trackers for several weeks, too, so that they can rate them fairly on comfort and usability.

To find out more about our tough lab tests, head over to how we test fitness watches and activity trackers.

SHARE THIS PAGE