We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Best pushchair brands

Which pushchair brand to buy in 2020

Article 1 of 2

Put us to the test

Our Test Labs compare features and prices on a range of products. Try Which? to unlock our reviews. You'll instantly be able to compare our test scores, so you can make sure you don't get stuck with a Don't Buy.

Which is the best pushchair brand?

Find out which is the best pushchair brand. See whether Bugaboo, Joie, Maxi-Cosi or Silver Cross pushchairs do well in our testing and which brand parents would recommend.

In this article

Our tough tests compare and identify the best pushchairs for ride quality and pushing, seat comfort and ease of folding. We also ask parents how happy they are with their pushchair brand. This is so we can get a complete picture of how good a model is when new and how it fares over time. We also ask parents what features they look for when buying one, rating them for importance, from good suspension to a reversible seat.

Best pushchair brands leaderboard 

To out which brands come top, we've combined the test results data from all the pushchairs we've reviewed between January 2015 and March 2020 that are still available to buy, with our unique customer scores, so you can see at-a-glance how the key brands stack up against one another. 

Find out below which of 17 popular brands comes out top. 

Which? members can log in now to unlock the scores in the table. If you’re not yet a member, join Which? to unlock this and thousands of other reviews with – from baby car seats to travel cots.
Best pushchair brands leaderboard
Position Brand Number tested
(and number of Best Buys)
Average test score1 Customer
satisfaction score2
1 Subscriber only content Subscriber only content 73 80%
2= Subscriber only content Subscriber only content 71 79%
= Subscriber only content Subscriber only content 67 79%
4 Subscriber only content Subscriber only content 74 78%
5 Subscriber only content Subscriber only content 76 77%
= Subscriber only content Subscriber only content 65 77%
7 Subscriber only content Subscriber only content 55 76%
= Subscriber only content Subscriber only content 74 76%
= Subscriber only content Subscriber only content 74 76%
10 Subscriber only content Subscriber only content 68 74%
11 Subscriber only content Subscriber only content 66 73%
= Subscriber only content Subscriber only content 70 73%
13 Subscriber only content Subscriber only content 67 72%
= Subscriber only content Subscriber only content 60 72%
= Subscriber only content Subscriber only content 69 72%
16 Subscriber only content Subscriber only content 71 70%
17 Subscriber only content Subscriber only content 68 69%
Table notes
1 Average test score: Based on all pushchairs we've tested between January 2015 and March 2020 that are still available to buy.
2 Customer score: based on a survey of 2,423 parents with a child under the age of 12 in February 2019.

Best vs worse pushchair brands compared 

As you can see, there’s a big difference between the best and worst in our tests, and varying feedback from parents who own pushchairs from these brands.

Most popular pushchair features as rated by parents 

Pushchair brands rated 

We asked 2,423 parents to tell us which brand of pushchair they owned and how satisfied they are with that brand.

We also asked them whether they would recommend the chosen brand to a friend. From these responses, we've compiled an overall customer score.

Choose a pushchair brand from the list below to find out more detail about its performance in our survey.

Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive recommendations. If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access and see how parents rate these pushchair brands.

Baby Jogger pushchairs overview
Number tested in the past five years 16
Number of Best Buys Join Which? to reveal
Average test score Join Which? to reveal
Customer score Join Which? to reveal
Typical spend Join Which? to reveal
Table notes Average test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of March 2020). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 56 parents, conducted in March 2019. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key points for the brand:

  • The Baby Jogger pushchair brand was the first to invent the three-wheeled pushchair, ideal for those who like to get out and about with their baby – although, none of its pushchairs are intended for jogging with.
  • Baby Jogger also makes both single and double versions of some of its pushchairs, including the Baby Jogger City Select and Baby Jogger City Select double.
  • See all our Baby Jogger reviews.
Babystyle pushchairs overview
Number tested in the past five years 18
Number of Best Buys Join Which? to reveal
Average test score Join Which? to reveal
Customer score Join Which? to reveal
Typical spend Join Which? to reveal
Table notes Average test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of March 2020). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 36 parents, conducted in March 2019. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key points for the brand:

  • The BabyStyle ranges of Egg and Oyster pushchairs certainly stand out – they come in a variety of eye-catching colours and designs, which can be changed if you get bored and fancy a different look.
  • Oyster pushchairs are compatible with several popular baby car seat brands, such as Besafe, Britax, Cybex and Maxi-Cosi. Egg pushchairs convert into an all-in-one travel system using a specially designed Kiddy car seat, and are compatible with other baby car seats with the use of adaptors.
  • See all our Babystyle pushchair reviews.
Britax pushchairs overview
Number tested in the past five years 9
Number of Best Buys Join Which? to reveal
Average test score Join Which? to reveal
Customer score Join Which? to reveal
Typical spend Join Which? to reveal
Table notes Average test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of March 2020). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 49 parents, conducted in March 2019. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key points for the brand:

  • Britax was founded in the 1930s, initially focusing on the development of adult seatbelts, and launched its first child car seat in the 1960s.
  • Britax is now famous for all its pushchairs, too – three-wheel pushchairs, four-wheel pushchairs, singles and doubles – and it has also bought the Bob brand of pushchairs, adding the Bob Revolution Pro running buggy to its range.
  • See all our Britax pushchair reviews.
Bugaboo pushchairs overview
Number tested in the past five years 9
Number of Best Buys Join Which? to reveal
Average test score Join Which? to reveal
Customer score Join Which? to reveal
Typical spend Join Which? to reveal
Table notes Average test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of March 2020). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 101 parents, conducted in March 2019. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key points for the brand:

  • Bugaboo is a Dutch buggy brand that's been making pushchairs since 1999. The bright, swappable fabrics and stylish design make them a popular choice among fashionable, active parents. The high prices make Bugaboo pushchairs an aspirational choice and many celebrity parents have been papped pushing one.
  • They’re often smooth and easy to push on most surfaces, but have many accessories that have to be bought separately and they can be bulky.
  • See all our Bugaboo pushchair reviews.
Chicco pushchairs overview
Number tested in the past five years 4
Number of Best Buys Join Which? to reveal
Average test score Join Which? to reveal
Customer score Join Which? to reveal
Typical spend Join Which? to reveal
Table notes Average test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of March 2020). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 101 parents, conducted in March 2019. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key points for the brand:

  • Italian brand Chicco has more than 50 years’ experience in manufacturing children’s products and its buggies are sold in 120 countries.
  • The brand has a wide choice of lightweight models, and most are easy to fold and fit in a car. However, this can mean they’re not suitable for rough ground and can be a bit flimsy.
  • See all our Chicco pushchair reviews.
Cosatto pushchairs overview
Number tested in the past five years 16
Number of Best Buys Join Which? to reveal
Average test score Join Which? to reveal
Customer score Join Which? to reveal
Typical spend Join Which? to reveal
Table notes Average test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of March 2020). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 84 parents, conducted in March 2019. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key points for the brand:

  • The brand makes a wide choice of baby and child products, including car seats and high chairs.
  • Cosatto products are well known for their very bright, eye-catching colours and patterns. The company works with University of Sussex experts to create colour designs and motifs designed to stimulate or be appropriate to the preferences and sensitivities of babies.
  • See all our Cosatto pushchair reviews.
Graco pushchairs overview
Number tested in the past five years 8
Number of Best Buys Join Which? to reveal
Average test score Join Which? to reveal
Customer score Join Which? to reveal
Typical spend Join Which? to reveal
Table notes Average test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of March 2020). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 183 parents, conducted in March 2019. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key points for the brand:

  • Graco was originally an American manufacturer of machine and car parts, but has been making baby products since the mid-1950s, and selling them in Europe since 1997.
  • It was the first pushchair manufacturer to create a travel-system pushchair, which allows parents to attach a baby car seat to the pushchair frame.
  • See all our Graco pushchair reviews.
Hauck pushchairs overview
Number tested in the past five years 4
Number of Best Buys Join Which? to reveal
Average test score Join Which? to reveal
Customer score Join Which? to reveal
Typical spend Join Which? to reveal
Table notes Average test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of March 2020). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 101 parents, conducted in March 2019. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key points for the brand:

  •  Hauck is a long-standing international brand that has been around since 1921, originally making cribs, followed by christening robes. Pushchairs joined the range in the 1970s, but Hauck didn't come to the UK until 2001. Its philosophy has always been to 'give your baby a feeling of security'.
  • As well as pushchairs – such as the Hauck Swift and Hauck Rapid 4 – it now offers a range of other baby products, including baby car seats, high chairs and travel cots.
  • See all our Hauck pushchair reviews.
iCandy pushchairs overview
Number tested in the past five years 10
Number of Best Buys Join Which? to reveal
Average test score Join Which? to reveal
Customer score Join Which? to reveal
Typical spend Join Which? to reveal
Table notes Average test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of March 2020). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 111 parents, conducted in March 2019. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key points for the brand:

  • The iCandy pushchair brand was launched in 2005 and is part of a British family business that dates back to the early 1930s.
  • It's a premium buggy brand that prides itself on its luxurious look and stylish designs and it's notable for naming its pushchairs after different types of fruit, such as the iCandy Apple, Raspberry, Peach and Strawberry.  
  • Read our iCandy pushchair reviews.
Joie pushchairs overview
Number tested in the past five years 12
Number of Best Buys Join Which? to reveal
Average test score Join Which? to reveal
Customer score (%) Join Which? to reveal
Typical spend Join Which? to reveal
Table notes Average test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of March 2020). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 185 parents, conducted in March 2019. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key points for the brand:

  • Joie is a British baby product seat brand that's owned by a larger company (along with Nuna and Graco) called Allison baby.
  • It makes a range of products, including pushchairs, car seats, high chairs, travel cots and baby bouncers.
  • Read our Joie pushchair reviews.
Maclaren pushchairs overview
Number tested in the past five years 6
Number of Best Buys Join Which? to reveal
Average test score Join Which? to reveal
Customer score Join Which? to reveal
Typical spend Join Which? to reveal
Table notes Average test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of March 2020). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 99 parents, conducted in March 2019. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key points for the brand:

  • Maclaren is an iconic British brand, known the world over for its light and portable buggies. Generations of parents and children are familiar with its products, and today's Maclaren buggies share many of the same key features as the first ones made, including the famous ‘umbrella’ fold.  
  • This type of fold involves pushing up a catch at the back of the buggy to collapse it. On collapse, the pushchair remains the same length, but its width reduces – like folding an umbrella.
  • Read our Maclaren pushchair reviews.
Mamas & Papas pushchairs overview
Number tested in the past five years 10
Number of Best Buys Join Which? to reveal
Average test score Join Which? to reveal
Customer score Join Which? to reveal
Typical spend Join Which? to reveal
Table notes Average test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of March 2020). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 186 parents, conducted in March 2019. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key points for the brand:

  • Mamas & Papas was established in Huddersfield in 1981 by Italian entrepreneurs, David and Luisa Scacchetti. This family business has grown rapidly over the past few years to become one of the top UK brands today, offering a range of products, from maternity and children’s clothes to pushchairs.
  • Mamas & Papas has built its brand on the values of quality, being trusted and experienced, as well as being a leader in design. Features of its pushchairs include single-handed folds and seats that can be changed from forward facing to parent facing.
  • Read our Mamas & Papas pushchair reviews.
Maxi-Cosi pushchairs overview
Number tested in the past five years 10
Number of Best Buys Join Which? to reveal
Average test score Join Which? to reveal
Customer score Join Which? to reveal
Typical spend Join Which? to reveal
Table notes Average test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of March 2020). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 51 parents, conducted in March 2019. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key points for the brand:

  • Maxi-Cosi was originally a car seat manufacturer, but it has also become a popular buggy brand and the first to introduce the 3-in-1 travel-system concept.
  • If you like the idea of a travel-system pushchair, you might want to consider one, as many of its pushchairs are compatible with popular Maxi-Cosi car seats.
  • Read our Maxi-Cosi pushchair reviews.
My Babiie pushchairs overview
Number tested in the past five years 5
Number of Best Buys Join Which? to reveal
Average test score Join Which? to reveal
Customer score Join Which? to reveal
Typical spend Join Which? to reveal
Table notes Average test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of March 2020). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 45 parents, conducted in March 2019. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key points for the brand:

  • My Babiie has been around since 2014 and is known for frequently collaborating with ‘celebrity’ mums, including Bille Faiers, Katie Piper and Samantha Faiers to create special-edition ranges.
  • Products can be bought through the brand’s website or via selected retailers. Occasionally, older models are stocked during Aldi ‘Special Buy’ baby product weeks.
  • Read our My Babiie pushchair reviews.
Quinny pushchairs overview
Number tested in the past five years 10
Number of Best Buys Join Which? to reveal
Average test score Join Which? to reveal
Customer score Join Which? to reveal
Typical spend Join Which? to reveal
Table notes Average test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of March 2020). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 47 parents, conducted in March 2019. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key points for the brand:

  • Dutch in origin, the Quinny brand has been owned by Canadian group Dorel since 2001. Dorel also owns Maxi-Cosi, which makes the bestselling child car seats that are used to turn Quinny pushchairs into travel systems.
  • Hi-tech fabrics, fashionable colours and shiny tubular frames are all part of the brands pushchair appeal.
  • Read our Quinny pushchair reviews.
Red Kite pushchairs overview
Number tested in the past five years 6
Number of Best Buys Join Which? to reveal
Average test score Join Which? to reveal
Customer score Join Which? to reveal
Typical spend Join Which? to reveal
Table notes Average test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of March 2020). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 35 parents, conducted in March 2019. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key points for the brand:

  • Red Kite makes a range of baby and nursery products, including pushchairs, baby carriers, high chairs, travel cots, walkers and rockers.
  • Red Kite pushchairs are usually very cheap, and its largest sector for wheeled goods is for lightweight strollers. It does, however, make some travel-system pushchairs and these include the car seat, which is usually convertible to a carrycot mode. It also makes a double pushchair (the Push Me Twini).
  • Read our Red Kite pushchair reviews.
Silver Cross pushchairs overview
Number tested in the past five years 21
Number of Best Buys Join Which? to reveal
Average test score Join Which? to revealM
Customer score Join Which? to reveal
Typical spend Join Which? to reveal
Table notes Average test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of March 2020). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 225 parents, conducted in March 2019. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key points for the brand:

  • Generations of children have travelled the streets in iconic Silver Cross prams, including the Queen, Prince Charles,Silver and Princes William and Harry, not to mention the newest princes and princesses.
  • Today, Silver Cross covers the whole baby transport market, with products ranging from luxury 'traditional' prams that cost more than £1,000 to modern, lightweight pushchairs.
  • Read our Silver Cross pushchair reviews.

Head to our pushchair reviews

Know which pushchair brand you want? Go straight to our reviews and find your ideal model:

Need help choosing? See all of our pushchair reviews.

How we help you to choose the best pushchair 

When you're choosing a pushchair, you want a brand and a model you can trust. But there are also a number of other key things to consider.  

For example, do you want a lightweight stroller or a full pushchair travel system? You can find out more about the pros and cons of each in our guide on how to buy the right pushchair, including whether you should go for a buggy, travel-system or all-terrain pushchair. Plus, read our pushchairs and prams jargon buster.

We put our pushchairs through an enormous range of tests that check everything from the structural safety of the product, to whether your buggy will get stuck in the sand if you head to the beach.

We do hundreds of different checks, and use a panel of experts and parents and children to get feedback on the models we test.

Read about how we test pushchairs for more information.

SHARE THIS PAGE