We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Home & garden.

When you click on a retailer link on our site, we may earn affiliate commission to help fund our not-for-profit mission.Find out more.

Updated: 14 Jun 2022

Morrisons review

Find out how hundreds of Morrisons shoppers rate its supermarket stores and website in our review.
Which? Team

Morrisons began life as a Bradford market stall in 1899 and now has almost 500 stores. It promises freshness, service and value – but do its customers agree?

In the annual Which? supermarkets survey, more than 500 Morrisons customers rated the retailer on everything from queuing time to the quality of its food and value for money. 

This enabled us to work out star ratings for different factors as well as an overall customer score.

Are Morrisons supermarkets any good?

This is member-only content.

  • Join Which? now for instant access to the results plus all of our online reviews.
  • Which? members can log in to unlock the table below and reveal the ratings.
Morrisons stores
Store appearance 
Queuing time
Staff availability and helpfulness
Stock availability
Range of products
Overall quality of own-label and fresh products
Value for money

Is Morrisons' online delivery service any good?

This is member-only content.

  • Join Which? now for instant access to the results plus all of our online reviews.
  • Which? members can log in to unlock the table below and reveal the ratings.
Morrisons online
Ease of using the website or app
Stock availability
Range of products
Quality of own-label and fresh products
Availability of collection/delivery slots
Customer service at collection/delivery
Choice of substitute items

How fresh is the food in Morrisons deliveries?

We went undercover to find out how the different supermarkets compare for freshness, using a team of mystery shoppers to order more than 1,000 groceries in the first – and biggest – comparison of its kind in August 2021.

Morrisons came fifth out of six for freshness, with items lasting 9.19 days on average. It delivered a pack of Scotch eggs on their use-by date, root veg mash with just one day left and three damaged items.

How safe are Morrisons stores in the pandemic?

When we surveyed Morrisons shoppers in October 2020, 73% rated its in-store Covid-19 measures as good or excellent. Find out how this compares with the other supermarkets in our survey by visiting our guide to the UK's best and worst supermarkets.

At the time of publishing this page (Feb 2022), Morrisons said it was cleaning stores and sanitising baskets and trolleys frequently throughout the day, and that there were stations for sanitising your hands. 

Protective screens are in place at checkouts, kiosks and customers service desks, and in its cafes and petrol stations.

Morrisons in the news

In June 2022, it emerged Morrisons had changed its online ordering system. Instead of £1 being ‘reserved’ on shoppers' cards when they booked a delivery, Morrisons now instead reserves 5% of the expected cost the day before delivery. Shoppers are then charged based on the actual size of their final orders, with the reserved amount returned within a couple of days of delivery.

In January 2022, Morrisons said it was scrapping use-by dates on milk, encouraging customers to use the sniff test to check whether their milk is still good to use instead. It expects that this will stop millions of pints of its milk from being thrown away each year.

Morrisons partnered with Deliveroo in September 2021 to launch Deliveroo Hop in central London – a rapid grocery delivery service from delivery-only stores that promises to get groceries to customers in as little as 10 minutes. Deliveroo plans to expand it further in the future.

Also in September 2021, Morrisons said it had become the first supermarket to remove plastic bags from all the bananas it sells in stores.

In October 2020, Morrisons said it had saved 100 tonnes of food from going to waste over the past year by offering food past its best-before date through the Too Good to Go app. Customers download the app and use it to find local stores where they can buy a bag of unsold food worth at least £10 for £3.09.

In August 2020, Morrisons started selling its entire range on Amazon, with free same-day deliveries for Amazon Prime members who spend over £40.

In February 2020, Morrisons stopped selling eggs from caged chickens and now only sells free-range eggs. Waitrose and M&S had already switched to free-range-only, while Aldi, Lidl, Sainsbury's and Tesco have committed to doing so by 2025.

Morrisons' plastic packaging

In April 2019, we investigated how much supermarket plastic packaging is recyclable. We ordered 46 of the most popular own-brand items from 11 major UK supermarket chains. We found just 39% of Morrisons' packaging, by item, was widely recyclable at the kerbside – the lowest percentage in our investigation.

We also looked at how accurately the items in our baskets were labelled by the supermarkets. We found 60% of Morrisons packaging was labelled correctly. See how Morrisons compares with other supermarkets and find out more about supermarket plastic packaging.

Find out more