We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies as per our policy which also explains how to change your preferences.

Nutribullet - is it worth it?

By Aaron West

Nutribullet blenders have taken the UK by storm, but are they really the only blenders worth buying? Find out below.

Put us to the test

Our Test Labs compare features and prices on a range of products. Try Which? to unlock our reviews. You'll instantly be able to compare our test scores, so you can make sure you don't get stuck with a Don't Buy.

The Nutribullet 600 burst onto the scene in 2014, and quickly became the most wished-for blender. But is this mini bullet-shaped blender, designed for making speedy one-portion smoothies, worth the hype? And what about the newer, more expensive, Nutribullet blenders? Below we explain what you get with the different Nutribullet models, and what your alternatives are.

There are now six Nutribullet blenders - the original Nutribullet 600, the Nutribullet 900, the Nutribullet Rx, the Nutribullet 1000 Series and 1200 Series, and the Nutribullet Balance. Each varies according to its power, capacity, price and array of accessories. But they all the retain the simple design that made Nutribullets so attractive. 

More power and expense doesn't necessarily mean a better blend. We independently test and review rival blenders such as the Nutri Ninja, Nutri Pro, Nutrient blender, and more, revealing the best blenders around - including some brilliant options that will set you back less than any Nutribullet. 

Head to our blender reviews to compare models and find out which blenders we recommend.

What you get with the Nutribullet

Each Nutribullet blender has just one blending setting, a variety of different-sized blending cups, and travel lids for taking your drink on the go. As you go up the range you get more features. Here's an overview of how the Nutribullet blenders compare:

  • Nutribullet 600 - cheapest, has smallest capacity (one-portion blending)
  • Nutribullet 900 - slightly larger capacity and more powerful motor
  • Nutribullet 1000 Series - larger capacity (several portions in one go), more powerful motor, insulated steel travel blending cup, 'smart' blending programme
  • Nutribullet 1200 Series - another step up from the 1000 Series with a more powerful motor, a bigger second cup and two pre-programmed cycles
  • Nutribullet Rx - large capacity (several portions in one go), makes hot soup from scratch, 'smart' blending programme
  • Nutribullet Balance - most expensive, same power motor motor and capacity as the 1200 Series, can connect via Bluetooth to a smartphone or tablet where you can track the nutritional content of your smoothies

Before you buy, make sure you check our Nutribullet blender reviews to see which Nutribullets we recommend. Logged-in members can see quick summaries of each Nutribullet review below, plus our top picks for Nutribullet alternatives, including some cheap blenders that punch above their weight. Not yet a member? Join Which? to get instant access.

Nutribullets at a glance

Nutribullet 600

Lowest price (in stock) £54.99
Which? score %
Reviewed Dec 2014
Fruit, veg and nut smoothie:
Member exclusive4 out of 5
Ability to crush ice:
Member exclusive2 out of 5
Cleaning:
Member exclusive4 out of 5
Weight:
2kg
Capacity:
0.6 litres
Power:
600
Speed Settings:
1

The original little blender with the huge claims - it 'literally pulverises everything' according to the makers. It's a great size if you're making a smoothie for one or two, but how smooth are they really?

Nutribullet Pro 900

Lowest price (in stock) £74.98
Which? score %
Reviewed Jun 2015
Fruit, veg and nut smoothie:
Member exclusive4 out of 5
Ability to crush ice:
Member exclusive2 out of 5
Cleaning:
Member exclusive4 out of 5
Weight:
2.6kg
Capacity:
0.7 litres
Power:
900
Speed Settings:
1

This is the bigger 'Pro' version of the original Nutribullet 600 - boasting a more powerful motor and larger cup sizes - but is bigger actually better in the world of mini-blending?

Nutribullet Rx

Lowest price (in stock) £119.99
Which? score %
Reviewed Jun 2016
Fruit, veg and nut smoothie:
Member exclusive4 out of 5
Ability to crush ice:
Member exclusive5 out of 5
Cleaning:
Member exclusive4 out of 5
Weight:
3.8kg
Capacity:
1.3 litres
Power:
1700
Speed Settings:
1

Twice as heavy as the Nutribullet 600 and more than double the price, the Rx makes hot soup from scratch in seven minutes, but does the extra motor power translate to super-smooth results?

Nutribullet 1000 Series

Lowest price (not in stock) £99.99
Which? score %
Reviewed Jun 2017
Fruit, veg and nut smoothie:
Member exclusive4 out of 5
Cleaning:
Member exclusive4 out of 5
Weight:
2.8kg
Capacity:
0.72 litres
Power:
1000
Speed Settings:
1

The 1000 Series is another addition to the burgeoning Nutribullet family. It has a stainless steel travel cup which is designed to keep your smoothies ice-cold. Find out if this, combined with the 1000W motor, make for the perfect personal blender.

Nutribullet 1200 Series

Lowest price (in stock) £104.99
Which? score %
Reviewed Jun 2017
Fruit, veg and nut smoothie:
Member exclusive4 out of 5
Cleaning:
Member exclusive4 out of 5
Weight:
2.9kg
Capacity:
0.72 litres
Power:
1200
Speed Settings:
1

Yet another incarnation of the Nutribullet - this time with a bigger, 1200W motor, a couple of large cups and two automatic programmes. Find out if the extra investment makes for great quality blends.

Nutribullet Balance

Typical price £150.00
Which? score %
Reviewed Sep 2018
Fruit, veg and nut smoothie:
Member exclusive5 out of 5
Smoothie with ice:
Member exclusive4 out of 5
Ease of Use:
Member exclusive5 out of 5
Weight:
2.8kg
Capacity:
0.9 litres
Power:
1200
Speed Settings:
1

The latest and most expensive Nutribullet, the Balance, is also the first with smart features. With nutrition tracking, Nutribullet claims you can keep a close eye on how many calories, vitamins and minerals are in your smoothie creations. Find out whether this feature lives up to expectations, and whether the Balance justifies its hefty price tag.

Nutribullet replacement parts

Nutribullet recommends that frequent users replace the blade unit every six months. This is because regular use and cleaning causes the rubber seal (or gasket) inside the blade unit to deteriorate. In worst-case scenarios, the seal can completely break and cause the Nutribullet to leak – which can be particularly dangerous  if the motor base gets wet.

If your Nutribullet has begun to leak slightly, contact the retailer to see whether replacement blade units are covered by its guarantee. If not, you can order replacements from an official supplier, such as highstreettv.com. Nutribullet warns that you shouldn’t buy standalone replacement seals as these aren’t endorsed by the brand, and won’t offer the same tight seal that official parts do. For more advice see our guide to your rights on faulty products.

Best Nutribullet alternatives

You don't have to spend a lot to get a brilliant blender, and not all recommend regularly replacing parts. We've tested a range of cheap rivals to the Nutribullet, and found some great options for those on a budget.  

Logged-in members can see our best Nutribullet alternatives below. Some of these cost less than £50, so you could make a real saving while still getting super smoothies and soup. Not yet a member? Join Which? for instant access.

Lowest price (in stock) £109.99
Which? score 90%
Reviewed Jun 2016
Fruit, veg and nut smoothie:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Ability to crush ice:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Cleaning:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Weight:
Member exclusive
Capacity:
Member exclusive
Power:
Member exclusive
Speed Settings:
Member exclusive

We were blown away by this blender. It did outstandingly at virtually every test we put it through, even crushing ice cubes, which is quite a feat. It’s the highest-scoring Best Buy blender on record, knocking all the Nutri-rivals off the blender throne.

Lowest price (in stock) £57.99
Which? score 85%
Reviewed Jun 2015
Fruit, veg and nut smoothie:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Ability to crush ice:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Cleaning:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Weight:
Member exclusive
Capacity:
Member exclusive
Power:
Member exclusive
Speed Settings:
Member exclusive

An outstanding blender that's good at pretty much everything we challenged it to. It makes brilliant smoothies, soups and more, and is easy to use and straightforward to clean.

Lowest price (in stock) £35.00
Which? score 73%
Reviewed Jun 2016
Fruit, veg and nut smoothie:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Ability to crush ice:
2 out of 52 out of 5
Cleaning:
3 out of 53 out of 5
Weight:
Member exclusive
Capacity:
Member exclusive
Power:
Member exclusive
Speed Settings:
Member exclusive

This blender isn't quite genius, as it doesn't make it to Best Buy status - though it's not far off. It sailed through our tough smoothie mixes, and also made great pesto and soup. Its main downfall is its poor ice-crushing — something many blenders struggle with — and it’s also one of the slower blenders that we’ve tested.

Typical price £35.00
Which? score 72%
Reviewed Jun 2016
Fruit, veg and nut smoothie:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Cleaning:
2 out of 52 out of 5
Weight:
Member exclusive
Capacity:
Member exclusive
Power:
Member exclusive
Speed Settings:
Member exclusive

As well as soup, this easy-to-use blender deals well with harder ingredients, such as nuts, and also does a good job with drier mixes such as pesto. However, if you like your smoothies ice-cold, don’t go for this blender, as the instructions state you can’t use it for ice crushing, even when you add liquid.

Jug blenders, juicers and other healthy eating gadgets

If big batches of soup are your thing, a jug blender may suit your needs better. These bigger blenders can be super-pricey - we've tested one that will give you just £1 change from £500, but we've also found a Best Buy for £30. Head to our Best Buy blenders to find out which ones really impress.

If you aren't sure what you need, check out our advice on choosing a blender, juicer or smoothie maker.

We've also tested vegetable spiralizers, so if you're looking for alternative ways to get more veg in your diet, check out our spiralizer top picks

SHARE THIS PAGE

Related products

See all blenders