We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies as per our policy which also explains how to change your preferences.

Top five best Desktop PCs for 2018

By Michael Passingham

We round-up our best scoring Desktop PCs and all-in-one PCs, from wallet-pleasing entry level models, to more expensive options busting with the latest tech.

Put us to the test

Our Test Labs compare features and prices on a range of products. Try Which? to unlock our reviews. You'll instantly be able to compare our test scores, so you can make sure you don't get stuck with a Don't Buy.

The best desktop PC for you

A decent desktop PC can make those daily computing tasks a breeze. No more watching that pesky Windows egg timer slowly tick down, or drumming your fingers impatiently on the desk. Our Best Buys suit a range of budgets, but all are quick enough for the average user, so you won't be hanging around.  

Top tower desktop PCs for 2018

Typical price £900.00
Which? score 82%
Reviewed Apr 2018
Performance:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Processor:
Member exclusive
Ram (GB):
Member exclusive
Storage capacity (GB):
Member exclusive
Graphics adapter:
Member exclusive

This PC is supremely powerful and excellent value for people who want a machine for video editing and a bit of gaming. It's overkill if you're only using it for office tasks, but if you want something speedy, this is a great choice.

Typical price £600.00
Which? score 76%
Reviewed Apr 2018
Performance:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Processor:
Member exclusive
Ram (GB):
Member exclusive
Storage capacity (GB):
Member exclusive
Graphics adapter:
Member exclusive

For the money, this PC is a brilliant piece of kit. Its powerful quad-core processor and dedicated graphics are at odds with its mid-range pricing. It's quite a large box, but it looks good and performs well so there's not a huge amount to complain about here.

Typical price £400.00
Which? score 70%
Reviewed Jun 2017
Performance:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Processor:
Member exclusive
Ram (GB):
Member exclusive
Storage capacity (GB):
Member exclusive
Graphics adapter:
Member exclusive

If you want compact performance, look no further. This desktop manages excellent processor speed, ideal for photo editing and office work, without hogging your entire desk. A steal at this price.

Typical price £420.00
Which? score 69%
Reviewed Apr 2018
Performance:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Processor:
Member exclusive
Ram (GB):
Member exclusive
Storage capacity (GB):
Member exclusive
Graphics adapter:
Member exclusive

We were really impressed with how well this PC performed given its budget pricing. It might not have the outright grunt of its rivals, but for office tasks, some light photo editing and web browsing, this compact machine is ideal.

Top All-in-One PCs for 2018

Lowest price (in stock) £1,629.97
Which? score 79%
Reviewed May 2017
Performance:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Screen quality:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Sound quality:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Processor:
Member exclusive
Ram (GB):
Member exclusive
Storage capacity (GB):
Member exclusive
Graphics adapter:
Member exclusive

This astonishing AIO is the best we’ve ever tested, with a powerful quad-core processor combined with a dedicated graphics card and a stunning screen. All this comes at a price, but if you’re in the market for a top-spec PC for editing photos, videos and other media, this PC is actually quite good value. Our only real complaints are the so-so keyboard and mouse that are unbefitting of such a premium machine.

Typical price £1,399.00
Which? score 76%
Reviewed Jan 2018
Performance:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Screen quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Sound quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Processor:
Member exclusive
Ram (GB):
Member exclusive
Storage capacity (GB):
Member exclusive
Graphics adapter:
Member exclusive

A top-spec all-in-one with a design to match, this model is a sure-fire iMac rival. With a powerful quad-core processor and dedicated graphics, this is a proper powerhouse. We were also impressed by the screen, and even its built-in speakers are excellent. Our only disappointment is the lack of a DVD drive and a rather shoddy webcam.

Lowest price (in stock) £974.97
Which? score 73%
Reviewed May 2017
Performance:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Screen quality:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Sound quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Processor:
Member exclusive
Ram (GB):
Member exclusive
Storage capacity (GB):
Member exclusive
Graphics adapter:
Member exclusive

This is a great all-rounder, featuring a top-quality screen, great performance and an Ultra-HD screen. We think the keyboard and mouse could be a little better, but it’s nonetheless an excellent piece of kit.

Typical price £1,199.00
Which? score 70%
Reviewed Aug 2017
Performance:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Screen quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Sound quality:
3 out of 53 out of 5
Processor:
Member exclusive
Ram (GB):
Member exclusive
Storage capacity (GB):
Member exclusive
Graphics adapter:
Member exclusive

A 27-inch AIO that will look impressive on any desk, with a stylish stand and bright touchscreen. You get a mid-range Intel Core i5 processor for good office work and photo-tweaking performance, and there’s even 16GB of high-speed SSD storage to keep the system running in a sprightly manner alongside the 8GB of Ram. A great buy for someone who wants to spend a little more without verging into iMac price territory.

Typical price £700.00
Which? score 65%
Reviewed Feb 2018
Performance:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Screen quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Sound quality:
2 out of 52 out of 5
Processor:
Member exclusive
Ram (GB):
Member exclusive
Storage capacity (GB):
Member exclusive
Graphics adapter:
Member exclusive

This PC is a good all-rounder thanks to its excellent screen and decent performance. We weren’t wowed by the keyboard, mouse or speakers, but for the money it’s a great starting point for anybody looking for a photo-editing PC.

Recommendations correct as of July 2018

We test desktop PCs more thoroughly than anyone else

Our tests go further than those carried out by other organisations, and because Which? is independent and does not accept advertising or freebies, you can trust our reviews to give you the full, honest and impartial truth about a product.

When we're testing desktop PCs at the Which? lab, we make sure that the tests we're running represent the sort of things you'll be doing with your new PC. So whilst we do the things you've expect, such as benchmarking tests to check how powerful these machines are, we also record how long it takes to boot up, or transfer data from a USB - tasks that we all do everyday.

To discover the benefits take a Which? trial for £1 and you'll receive access to all our online content.

SHARE THIS PAGE

Related products

See all desktop pcs