We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies as per our policy which also explains how to change your preferences.

Best Cars

Best Sports Cars for 2018

By Martin Pratt

Article 12 of 16

The best sports cars are agile performance models that are a joy to drive and won't let you down.They might not be that practical, but they’ll put a smile on your face.

Put us to the test

Our Test Labs compare features and prices on a range of products. Try Which? to unlock our reviews. You'll instantly be able to compare our test scores, so you can make sure you don't get stuck with a Don't Buy.

Sports cars focus less on practicality, and instead concentrate on desirability and driving performance, with sleek styling, impressive acceleration and unrivalled cornering prowess.

The class includes everything from affordable sports cars, such as the Audi TT and Toyota GT86, to high-end models including the BMW M4 and Porsche 911. 

But to be classified by us as one of the best sports cars, a car needs more than just looks or outright speed. 

Comfort, safety and driving experience, as well as emissions, will all impact a car's Which? test score. We've found sports car that breach official emissions limits, as well as models that are too unsafe to ever recommend.

Below are the best new and used sports cars you can buy, as revealed by our uniquely rigorous lab and road tests. Scroll down further to see the sports car we recommend you avoid.

Which? members can log in to see the sports cars we recommend. If you're not already a member, join Which? to unlock our best sports cars and all our reviews, including our expert used and new car reviews.

Best new sports cars

Price from £57,721
Which? score 79%
Reviewed Jun 2014
Driving stability:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Ride quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This car isn't short on performance, with a 400hp-plus engine, but it's easily capable of day-to-day driving too.

Price from £26,731
Which? score 74%
Reviewed Mar 2015
Driving stability:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Ride quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Model reliability 0-3 years:
4 out of 54 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

Now in its third generation, this upmarket sports car is fun, well-made and no more difficult to live with or use than a small hatchback. The rear seats are for kids only, though.

Price from £18,087
Which? score 72%
Reviewed Jul 2017
Driving stability:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Ride quality:
3 out of 53 out of 5
Model reliability 0-3 years:
5 out of 55 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

Proving that driving thrills needn't cost the earth, this two-seater roadster serves up driver entertainment to rival cars three times its price. It's easy to drive and feels built to last.

Price from £99,968
Which? score 70%
Reviewed Jul 2017
Driving stability:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Ride quality:
3 out of 53 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This range-topping sports car is unapologetically hardcore, with searing performance and razor sharp responses. It's supremely capable, but borders on brutal. If that sounds like your cup of tea, you won't be disappointed.

Price from £25,637
Which? score 68%
Reviewed Jun 2012
Driving stability:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Ride quality:
3 out of 53 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

A refreshing take on the sports car theme that prioritises driver fun over outright performance. It's superb to drive, well-built and doesn't drink fuel.

Best used sports cars

Price from £16,021
Which? score 79%
Reviewed Nov 2005
Driving stability:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Ride quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This two-seater sports car is a real thriller that’s as fast and agile as you'd expect. It's got a high-quality cabin and holds its value well.

Price from £32,285
Which? score 78%
Reviewed Sep 2004
Driving stability:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Ride quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This popular model justifies its near universal acclaim by being one of the most complete sports cars available. It's a superb blend of luxury car quality and supercar performance. It's practical enough for use every day, too.

Price from £31,804
Which? score 77%
Reviewed Apr 2012
Driving stability:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Ride quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This superb mid-engine convertible requires little compromise. It's entertaining, comfortable enough to use every day, and two boots (one front, one rear) boost practicality.

Price from £5,642
Which? score 72%
Reviewed Sep 2006
Driving stability:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Ride quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Model reliability 3-8 years:
4 out of 54 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

Surefooted handling, desirable styling and a high quality cabin ensure this sports car stands out from rivals. The rear seats are token efforts, though.

Price from £13,098
Which? score 71%
Reviewed Jun 2011
Driving stability:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Ride quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Model reliability 3-8 years:
4 out of 54 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This premium roadster offers a desirable combination of wind in the hair motoring, a high-quality interior and plenty of badge prestige. There's a wide range of engines, from an economy-minded diesel through to a thumping performance V8. And unlike many sporty two-seaters, it's perfectly suited to everyday driving.

Not found the car for you? Browse all our sports car reviews

And the sports cars to avoid

We put more of an emphasis on driving appeal and performance when we test sports cars. But that doesn't mean a sports car can get away with having sky-high emissions and rubbish fuel economy.

Some sports cars we've tested emit more than enough CO2 to put them firmly in the highest tax bracket, which means a £2,000 bill in your first year, on top of the high price you paid for the car. 

Economy isn't anyone's first concern when buying a sports car, but that doesn't mean you shouldn't consider it. You could get an excellent, fast, beautiful sports cars that manages more than 40 miles to the gallon, while others barely make it over 20.

The worst sin of all is sports cars that aren't fun to drive. Even small problems, such as suspension that's slightly too stiff, or handling that's too vague, is enough to spoil the enjoyment. When you're spending upwards of £50,000, you expect the drive to be nigh on perfect.

We drive each car we test for 500 miles, analysing every facet of how it feels and handles. So you know that when we warn you off a car because of how dull it is to drive, we are talking from experience.

These are the sports cars that failed to impress on the road and in our lab.

Sports cars to avoid

Price from £10,984
Which? score 45%
Reviewed May 2009
Driving stability:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Performance:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Seat comfort:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Ride quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Seat space:
2 out of 52 out of 5
Number of seats:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive
CO2 emissions (best measured):
Member exclusive

This sporty drop-top is hugely desirable, being easy enough to use every day but with the handling and performance to thrill on demand. Unfortunately, it's fallen behind the times in terms of safety, and with a three-star Euro NCAP safety rating, we simply cannot recommend it.

Price from £37,045
Which? score 45%
Reviewed Feb 2017
Driving stability:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Performance:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Seat comfort:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Ride quality:
3 out of 53 out of 5
Seat space:
2 out of 52 out of 5
Number of seats:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive
CO2 emissions (best measured):
Member exclusive

It may boast the performance and soundtrack of a full-fat sports car, but it's also uncomfortable, terrible for rear passengers and lacks safety equipment. It's Euro NCAP safety rating is also woefully poor.

We test cars more thoroughly than anyone else

Our tests go further than those carried out by other organisations, and because Which? is independent and doesn't accept advertising or freebies, you can trust our reviews to give you the full, honest and impartial truth about every car we test.

Every car we review is subjected to more than 100 individual tests in a lab, on a test track, and on real roads – and we really clock up the miles, driving around 500 miles in every car we test.

Testing in controlled lab conditions means the results we collect are directly comparable between different cars, helping us determine exactly which models are better and why, and helping you find the perfect car for your needs

And so you know which cars are likely to prove reliable for years to come, we also gather feedback from thousands of UK car owners through the Which? Car Survey, using it to generate detailed reliability ratings for the cars we test.

To take the guesswork out of choosing your next car, join Which? and you'll receive access to all our expert reviews and advice.

SHARE THIS PAGE