We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice
Reviews based on facts
Our rigorous tests find the facts, and our impartial reviews tell you the truth about how products perform. First month £5, then £9.99 per month, cancel anytime.
Try Which?
1 October 2020

Which chainsaw brand to buy in 2020

Unique Which? reliability data can help you choose a chainsaw that lasts. We survey owners of Stihl, Husqvarna, Bosch and Black and Decker chainsaws to find out which develop the least faults over time, and which brands customers would recommend.
Petrol chainsaw rested on planks
AW
Alice Williams

The chain breaking is one of the most common faults experienced by the chainsaw owners we surveyed.

Other common faults also relate to the chain, including the chain guard or the chain brake failing. Keeping your chain in good condition is vital for to keep your chainsaw safe to use and performing well.

Knowing which brands develop the most faults, and how quickly, is vital when buying a new hedge trimmer. That’s why we asked 799 Which? members to tell us whether they're happy with their chainsaws, or have experienced problems, in our unique reliability and customer satisfaction survey.

Our survey data takes into account the reported fault rates, the severity of these faults, and the speed with which they occurred. In our latest analysis, we've looked at the performance of the biggest chainsaw manufacturers – including Stihl, Husqvarna and Bosch – and have calculated a reliability rating and customer score for each, so you know which brands to choose and which to avoid.

Best vs worst chainsaw brands compared

We’ve found huge differences between how satisfied owners are with their chainsaws.

To guarantee a top performer, choose from one of the best chainsaws we've tested.

The most reliable chainsaw brands

The table below summarises our latest reliability results. Brands are ranked by their customer score, which relates to whether their customers would recommend that brand. The higher the percentage score for reliability, the fewer the problems reported.

Only logged-in members can view which brands are the most and least reliable, and which ones members are most satisfied with. If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.

Corded electric chainsaws

Brand Reliability score Customer satisfaction score
Brand 1 94% 75%
Brand 2 92% 80%
Brand 3 90% 62%

Cordless hedge trimmers

Brand Reliability score Customer satisfaction score
Brand 4 87% 87%
Brand 5 82% 76%
Table notes

The above data is based on a survey of 799 Which? members in January 2020.

Which chainsaw brand stays fault-free for longest?

The graph shows how the brand that stays fault-free for longest compares with the worst brand, and the overall average across corded and cordless chainsaws. 

Common chainsaw problems

The chain breaking is one of the most common faults on a chainsaw. Luckily, you can usually buy a replacement.

Choosing the wrong chain, or installing it incorrectly, could damage the chainsaw or make it unsafe to use. You'll need to choose a chain with the correct pitch, gauge and number of chain drives. You can contact the manufacturer to help you track down a replacement part.

When it comes to installing the chain, read your user manual carefully. If you have any doubts, it's best to ask a professional to supply and fit it for you.

Top three common corded chainsaw faults

1. Chain broke (32%)

- Keep your chain oiled and tighten it before use to keep it in good condition. If it does break you can usually buy a replacement.



2. Electrical failure (11%)

- This is a pretty major failure. You'll likely need to get it professionally repaired, or replace it.



3. Chain guard broke (4%)

- It's best to take this to a professional to avoid throwing out the whole chainsaw.

Top three common cordless chainsaw faults

1. Engine won't start (17%)

- In a cordless chainsaw this is usually due to the battery having degraded. You can buy a replacement battery to get it working again.



2. Chain broke (13%)

- Keep your chain oiled and tighten it before use to keep it in good condition. If it does break you can usually buy a replacement.



3. Chain brake failed (7%)

- The brake is an important safety feature, so you should get this repaired before you use it again.

For the best chance of buying a chainsaw that doesn't break down, you should choose from one of the more reliable brands in the table below.

Only logged in Which? members can see how brands compare for faults over a six-year period in the table below. If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access. 

Corded chainsaws

Brand name % fault-free after six years
Brand 1 93%
Brand 2 93%
Brand 3 80%

Cordless chainsaws

Brand name % fault-free after six years
Brand 4 84%
Brand 5 72%
Table notes

Results based on feedback from 799 chainsaw owners surveyed in January 2020.

How long will my chainsaw last?

There's not much difference on average in terms of how long the different types of chainsaws last. Both corded and cordless chainsaws in our survey were kept on average for around eight years.

This is based on the experiences of Which? members who told us how long they kept their previous appliance before they had to replace it, either because of a fault or because it wasn’t working as well as when they first bought it.

As you can see from the graph below, there’s a big difference between how long the best and the worst chainsaw brands last.

Which? members can log in to see which chainsaw brands last the longest before they need to be replaced. If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.

How we measure faults and reliability in chainsaws

Our data takes into account minor, major and catastrophic faults:

  • Minor faults don't affect the hedge trimmer's performance significantly, or only occur occasionally with minimal impact. The issue may be irritating or annoying, but isn't frequently problematic, and you can easily work around it.
  • Major faults have a noticeable effect on the hedge trimmer's performance. They affect how you use it, and can be problematic.
  • Catastrophic faults will render the hedge trimmer unusable, with the fault needing to be repaired or parts replaced before you can use it again.

Chainsaw brands rated

Choose a brand from the list below to find out more about how good it is, including the number of Best Buys it’s received and the average score of its hedge trimmers in our reviews.

Only logged-in members can view the hidden results in the tables below. If you’re not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.

Black and Decker chainsaws overview table
Number tested0
Number of Best Buys
Member icon
Average test score
Member icon
Brand reliability rating
Member icon
Customer score
Member icon
Typical spend
Member icon
Table notesThe customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey, conducted in January 2020, of 35 corded Black and Decker chainsaw owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend, and the reliability score is based on members’ experience of that brand. Table last updated June 2020.
  • Find out if Black and Decker chainsaws are more or less reliable than other brands.
  • See how Black and Decker owners rate their chainsaws.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.
Bosch chainsaws overview table
Number tested4
Number of Best Buys
Member icon
Average test score
Member icon
Brand reliability rating
Member icon
Customer score
Member icon
Typical spend
Member icon
Table notesAverage test scores based on results of models tested in the past three years (as of 1 June 2020). The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey, conducted in January 2020, of 97 corded Bosch chainsaw owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend, and the reliability score is based on members’ experience of that brand. Table last updated June 2020.
  • Find out how likely a Bosch chainsaw is to develop a fault.
  • See how Bosch chainsaws perform in our tests, and how many are Best Buys.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.
Husqvarna chainsaws overview table
Number tested5
Number of Best Buys
Member icon
Average test score
Member icon
Brand reliability rating
Member icon
Customer score
Member icon
Typical spend
Member icon
Table notesAverage test score based on results of models tested in the past three years (as of 1 June 2020). The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey, conducted in January 2020, of 58 cordless Husqvarna chainsaw owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend, and the reliability score is based on members’ experience of that brand. Table last updated June 2020.
  • Find out how likely a Husqvarna chainsaw is to develop a fault.
  • See how Husqvarna chainsaws perform in our tests, and how many are Best Buys.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.
Stihl chainsaws overview table
Number tested7
Number of Best Buys
Member icon
Average test score
Member icon
Brand reliability rating
Member icon
Customer score
Member icon
Typical spend
Member icon
Table notesAverage test score based on results of models tested in the past three years (as of 1 June 2020). The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey, conducted in January 2020, of 214 Stihl cordless chainsaw owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend, and the reliability score is based on members’ experience of that brand. Table last updated June 2020.
  • Find out how likely a Stihl chainsaw is to develop a fault.
  • See how Stihl owners rate their chainsaws.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.
Titan chainsaws overview table
Number tested0
Number of Best Buys
Member icon
Average test score
Member icon
Brand reliability rating
Member icon
Customer score
Member icon
Typical spend
Member icon
Table notesThe customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey, conducted in January 2020, of 40 Titan corded chainsaw owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend, and the reliability score is based on members’ experience of that brand. Table last updated June 2020.
  • See how Titan owners rate their chainsaws.
  • Find out how reliable Titan chainsaws are compared with other brands.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.

Head to our chainsaw reviews

Know which hedge trimmer brand you want? Use the links to go straight to our reviews and find your ideal model:

How we calculate the best and worst brands

Which? has a wealth of information on the UK’s favourite garden-tool brands. Every two years, we ask Which? members to tell us about the garden products they own - from how likely they'd be to recommend a brand, to how reliable the products are once you get them home. This year, almost 5,000 members told us about more than 11,000 products. We calculate a brand's reliability and its customer score based on the results of our biennial survey.

Our reliability surveys, combined with our extensive lab tests, mean we can recommend the best chainsaw you should buy.

This data is crucial for our testing, too. If a brand falls far below the category average, we take away the manufacturer's Best Buy recommendations and won’t recommend any of its products unless it shows a marked improvement in reliability.

View all Chainsaws